Science for Policy podcast

Listen on Apple Podcasts Listen on Google Podcasts Listen on Spotify Watch on YouTube

How far should we rely on science to make political decisions? What makes a good science advisor — or a good science advice system? What do we do when the evidence is incomplete or controversial? What happens when science advice goes wrong and how can we fix it?

The Science for Policy podcast, produced by SAPEA, explores these questions and many more in conversation with the politicians, policymakers, academics and science communicators who make science advice happen around the world.


We warmly welcome feedback on the podcast, including:

  • responses and reactions to the subjects discussed
  • nominations (including self-nominations) for future guests
  • proposals for future topics
The Science for Policy podcast was launched in September 2020. It is produced by SAPEA, but the varied and interesting opinions expressed by our guests are those of the guests themselves, and don't necessarily represent the views of SAPEA or the European Commission.

If you have been invited to appear on the podcast, you can find more information on our page of advice for guests.

Peter Gluckman is the chair of the International Network for Government Science Advice, and a former chief science advisor to New Zealand.
Rolf Heuer and Pearl Dykstra are respectively the chair and deputy chair of the European Commission's Group of Chief Scientific Advisors.
Bart Koelmans has chaired advisory groups on microplastics pollution for the UN and EU.

Subscribe to our newsletter